Sustainability Council

The campus-wide Sustainability Council exists to advance sustainability at NC State.

Established in September 2015 by the Provost and the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration, the Sustainability Council is charged with:

  • Serving as the advisory committee to the Provost and the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration on sustainability.
  • Advancing sustainability coordination, collaboration and communication across NC State and bringing together sustainability leaders to vision and guide university sustainability efforts.
  • Enhancing participatory decision-making and involvement in sustainability planning and activities.
  • Infusing sustainability into academic curricula across the university.
  • Identifying priorities and goals for advancing NC State’s embodiment of sustainability as a core value, including development and implementation of an updated Sustainability Strategic Plan

The Sustainability Council’s co-chairs are:

  • Council Co-Chair: Allen Boyette, Assistant Vice Chancellor of Campus Maintenance and Operations, Facilities
  • Council Co-Chair: Dr. Christopher Galik, Professor, College of Humanities and Social Sciences

For general questions about the Sustainability Council, email

Sustainability Council RosterCollege/Unit
Laina StensvoldCollege of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Mahmoud ShararaCollege of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Christopher GalikCollege of Humanities and Social Sciences
Seth MurrayCollege of Humanities and Social Sciences
Megan LupekCollege of Natural Resources
Fred LaleickeCollege of Natural Resources
Kristen SullivanCollege of Veterinary Medicine
April KedrowiczCollege of Veterinary Medicine
Traci Rose RiderCollege of Design
Carla DelCambreCollege of Design
Hector JuncoCollege of Education
Steven MillerCollege of Education
Fanxing LiCollege of Engineering
Jeremiah JohnsonCollege of Engineering
Scott HarmonFinance and Administration (Campus Enterprises)
Allen BoyetteFinance and Administration (Campus Operations and Maintenance)
Amanda SimmonsFinance and Administration (Transportation)
Carla DavisFinance and Administration (University Sustainability Office)
Christopher RossFinance and Administration (Real Estate and Development)
Sharon LoosmanFinance and Administration (Procurement and Business Services)
Hannah SheaFinance and Administration (Campus Enterprises)
Al ChenPoole College of Management
Jessica ThomasPoole College of Management
Walt RobinsonCollege of Sciences
Scott BelcherCollege of Sciences
Beth RosenStaff Senate
Karen LeonasWilson College of Textiles
Melissa SharpWilson College of Textiles
Meghan TetenUniversity College
Mary BarberUniversity College
Peter HarriesThe Graduate School
Tony ReevyProvost’s Office
Genevieve GarlandResearch Operations and Communications
Mark SchmidtPartnerships