NCSU Team Takes 1st & 3rd in Competition

In its 10th year, the North Carolina Sustainable Building Design Competition (NCSBDC) held its annual judging this past Saturday at the NC Museum of Natural Sciences in downtown Raleigh as part of the Planet Earth festival. For the past five
years, the NCSBDC has acted as a statewide subset of the larger U.S. Green Building Council’s national Natural Talent Design Competition (NTDC), in its 7th year, and the NCSBDC winner this year is expected to be sent forward as the state’s student entrant in the national competition.

The national NTDC competition welcomes the multi-year commitment of The Salvation Army’s EnviRenew division, who joins the U.S. Green Building Council for the two year design and construction cycle of the competition. As outlined on the
Open Architecture Network website, which facilitates the online portion of the competition, Entrants (will design) an affordable, 800 square foot green home for an elderly client in the Broadmoor, New Orleans neighborhood. Winners will be
announced after the top four entries have been constructed, inhabited and evaluated.

This partnership challenges entrants to design homes that demonstrate both short-term and long-term affordability, a high quality of life for their residents, and replicable strategies that contribute to our understanding of how to build affordably, efficiently and with minimal impact on the environment.

Eight universities and community colleges around North Carolina participated in the 2010 NCSBDC with a total of 25 teams comprised of 103 students participating; all schools with more than one entry held a school-based jury prior to advancing to the statewide contest. Eleven displays were present at the Museum on Saturday. The jury included Daniel Douglas of KlingStubbins; Marshall Dunlap of the North Carolina Solar Center; Erin Sterling of Frank Harmon Architect; Susannah Tuttle of Trace Collaborative; and Dr. Nancy White of the Coastal Studies Institute. Winners were:

First Place: North Carolina State University, Team Trio
Jamey Glueck
Margaret Jamison
Keith “Rusty” Miller
Faculty Advisor: Randy Lanou

Second Place: Cape Fear Community College, Team Atlantis
Lisa Ball
Chancey Drew
Bryan Gillespie
Charles Hegler
Faculty Advisor: Ron Wilson

Third Place: North Carolina State University, Team Studio 4our
Geoffrey Diamond
Erich Brunk
Heidi Chan
James Sun
Faculty Advisor: Randy Lanou

Honorable Mention: Cape Fear Community College, Team Renaissance
Michelle Pare
Adam Hasenfus
Justin Melton
Anthoney Chance
Faculty Advisor: Ron Wilson