In a ceremony held earlier this week, the Campus Environmental Sustainability Team at North Carolina State University announced the 2011 Earthwise Award recipients. Megan Cain (student), Andy Fox (faculty) and Anne Tazewell (staff) were recognized for their continued commitment to move sustainability forward on campus. The 2011 awards were made possible by a generous donation from Coca-Cola.

Presenting the awards were Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, Tom Stafford and Vice Chancellor for Finance and Business, Charles D. Leffler. Kyle Felmet, campus ambassador, represented Coca-Cola.

Each year a faculty, staff and student are honored with an Earthwise Award for outstanding achievement in environmental sustainability at NC State. The Campus Environmental Sustainability Team presents the awards in order to recognize work that “meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”

The 2011 winners received a plaque made of 100% recycled glass and a $200 check.

For more information on the Earthwise Awards, go to .